DWI & Your Drivers License
The Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn handles all North Carolina alcohol and drug related driving charges. This includes the charge of DWI / DUI.
How will a DWI affect my license?
Pretrial limited driving privilege – If you blow a .08 or higher, the State can automatically revoke your license for 30 days. This is often referred to as a civil revocation. However, an experienced attorney from the Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn can help you obtain privileges to drive for work, education, and maintenance of your household in as little as 10 days. On the eleventh day of your suspension, we can help you get a pretrial limited driving privilege that will allow you to drive for certain necessities such as getting back and forth to work. These privileges are sometimes referred to as pretrial privileges, temporary license, work license, or work permit. Don’t go the full thirty days without your privilege to drive- call us today and allow us to help you get back on the road and back to your life as easily as possible.
Post-trial limited driving privileges
Traditional privilege – If you are convicted of an offense of driving while impaired, your license will be revoked for 1 year. However, an experienced attorney at the Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn can help you get a limited driving privilege that will allow you to drive during that period. Our criminal defense team can get you back on the road for work, school, religious services, and maintenance of household among other purposes. And if you work outside of the regular 6am to 8pm Monday through Friday hours, we can work to get you a privilege that will allow you to drive to and from your place of employment during work hours.
Interlock driving privilege – If you are convicted of an offense of driving while impaired and your breath or blood alcohol level of .15 or greater comes into evidence, your license will be revoked for 1 year with no possibility of a driving privilege for 45 days. After 45 days, an experienced attorney from the Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn can work to get you an Interlock driving privilege. This privilege will allow you to drive to and from work, school, religious services, as well as any court ordered community service or substance abuse assessment and treatment facilities.
Refusal Revocation – If you are charged with an implied consent offense such as driving while impaired and you refuse to provide a breath alcohol sample, the DMV can suspend your license for 1 year. However, an experienced attorney from the Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little, & Bunn can have you back on the road in six months with a limited driving privilege. Don’t go any longer than you have to without driving – call an attorney that can help you get back to your life and daily routine as easily as possible.
Eligibility for driving privileges for grossly aggravated DWIs – Chapter 20 of the North Carolina General Statutes describes certain “grossly aggravating factors.” These factors include having a minor in the vehicle at the time of the offense, having a previous DWI conviction within seven years, or driving while your license is revoked for an impaired revocation. The presence of these grossly aggravating factors can increase your exposure to a higher level of DWI sentencing. The highest tier of sentencing for DWIs moves from level 2, up to level 1, and aggravated level 1.
If you are convicted of a level 2, 1, or A1 DWI, your license will be revoked for at least one year. During this time, per Chapter 20 of the North Carolina General Statutes, you will not be eligible for a limited driving privilege at these sentencing levels. If you receive a second DWI conviction within three years, your license could be revoked for 4 years with no chance for a limited driving privilege for at least two years.
Call an experienced attorney from the Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn and let us make sure you get back in the road as soon as possible. Don’t risk your license and your job- call someone you can trust to properly advise you and protect you when you need it.
How will a DWI affect my insurance rate?
If you are convicted of the offense of Driving While Impaired, you risk having your insurance increase four times its current rate. Contact an experienced attorney from the Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn to learn how you can help protect your insurance premiums today.
Contact our dedicated North Carolina DWI attorneys for a free initial consultation
The Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn. LLP defends clients in DWI cases and other criminal defense matters throughout North Carolina. Please call 919-714-4306 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation at our Raleigh office.