The Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn handles all Wake County traffic and criminal charges.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that there were 1,379 traffic fatalities in North Carolina in 2015. This was up from 1,284 the year before. You don’t plan to be in a car accident. Likewise, you don’t plan to be charged with manslaughter or homicide when that accident happens.
The Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn helps defendants and their families through these situations. We have defended fathers, sons, and daughters who have all found themselves charged with crimes such a vehicular manslaughter, aggravated DWI, vehicular homicide, and second degree murder. These cases need extensive attention: attention that the Hatch, Little & Bunn’s Defense Team provides. Our resources, our counselors, our expert investigators, and our experience provide our clients the comprehensive defense necessary to address the alleged offense and its aftermath. Call now to speak with one of our attorneys for a free consultation.
North Carolina General Statute 20-141.4 sets out the crimes that result in vehicular related homicides. These crimes include Felony Death by Motor Vehicle, Misdemeanor Death by Motor Vehicle, Aggravated Felony Death by Vehicle, and Repeat Felony Death by Vehicle Offender.
Felony Death by Vehicle occurs when a person unintentionally causes the death of another person while driving while impaired, and the impaired driving is the proximate cause of the death. Felony Death by Vehicle is a class D felony punishable by up to 204 months in prison.
Misdemeanor Death by Vehicle occurs when a person unintentionally causes the death of another while engaged in the violation of any State law or local ordinance pertaining to the operation of the vehicle, and the violation is the proximate cause of the death. This crime often applies when a person’s speeding, failure to stop, or failure to yield results in the death of another. This is a class A1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 150 days in jail.
Aggravated Felony Death by Vehicle occurs when a person commits Felony Death by Vehicle and has a prior conviction for DWI within the proceeding seven years. This is a class D felony that must be sentenced in the aggravated range of sentencing. Likewise, the felony crime is punishable by up to 204 months in prison.
Repeat Felony Death by Vehicle Offender is a class B2 felony. The crime arises when a person commits Felony Death by Vehicle and has a prior homicide conviction related to impaired driving. The specifics of this crime are found within North Carolina General Statute 20-141.4(a6) and (b).
The charge of Second Degree Murder is also not uncommon for DWI related homicides. Second Degree Murder is codified under North Carolina General Statute 14-17(b). It, too, is a class B2 felony, punishable by up to 484 months in prison. The charge is applicable is circumstances of a wanton disregard for human life, and is most often applied in circumstances where the defendant has previously been convicted of DWI. Other factors may be applicable as well, such as speeding at incredible speeds, or driving in a fashion that is especially reckless.
You need experienced defense. Call our experienced Raleigh lawyers now.
If you or a family member is charged with any form of vehicular homicide, contact us immediately. We have the experience to guide you. There is too much at stake to not contact the Criminal Defense Team of Hatch, Little & Bunn. The consultation is free and we can answer your questions, advise you of your options, and provide direction in a difficult time. Call 919-714-4306 or Contact us today.
Call 919-714-4306 now to speak with an attorney who can review your case with you and guide you through an appropriate course of defense. We offer a free consultation to review your options. We’re here to help.